SHU Journalism students getting jobs

by Philo Holland

Our 2012 journalism graduates aren’t wasting any time. They are banging on doors, getting work experience, applying for jobs, and getting them! It’s hard to keep up, but I’ll do my best.

Kim Law

Kim Law, has landed a post as a reporter on the Selby Post. Kim wrote to her former lecturers after she got the news.

I would just like to say thankyou for all the help, guidance and support you have given me over the past three years and throughout my journalism degree.

I found out today that I have got a full time job as a reporter at the Selby Post newspaper. The job is local and perfect for me and I could not be happier! They are going to put me through the NCTJ course and pay for it too which is fantastic! I start two weeks tomorrow and can not believe my luck!

Amy Myers

Amy Myers (left) and Adam Kay have both secured jobs as  feature writers at Regional Magazine Company. RMC covers six Sheffield-based titles.

Kris Holland

Kris Holland spent three weeks working as a sports reporter at BBC Radio Northampton. It went really well, and he’s now hoping to get more shifts there.

James Barber

James Barber will be starting a three week placement at BBC Radio Sheffield at the beginning of October.

Ian Barber

Ian Barber has won a place on the highly competitive Post Graduate Diploma in Broadcast Journalism at Cardiff, following in the footsteps of Adrian Chiles and Manish Bhasin. It’s a fantastic course which has a reputation for being a passport to a top TV or radio job. Another SHU graduate, Heidi Ghaichem, completed the course in the summer and is now working for BBC Radio Wales.

Stacey Dove is now working a staff writer at Ecotextile News. Her role involves copywriting, editing, and digital projects and social media

Leave a Reply

