George scores with MATCH!

Soccer-mad student George McCormick was lucky enough to interview one of his footballing heroes thanks to a new scheme called ‘Go Think Big’, which aims to provide students with work experience at top Bauer publications around the country. 

George, who read about the scheme in his favourite footie magazine, MATCH, applied for a two week placement at their office at Bauer Media in Peterborough. He writes: 

I applied, and, surprisingly, my application was accepted over a few hundred others. Having already spent some time there on a placement last summer must had something to do with it. But, it’s who you know in this trade!

During my time there, I helped out with some key features in the magazine. As well as creating quizzes and transcribing interviews, I wrote big match previews, player profiles and researched team statistics. I had to condense as much information as I could into 15-20 words – very challenging.

A highlight was travelling up to Old Trafford to interview Man United legend – Michael Carrick. I was quite chilled on the way to the interview, but when I saw him the nerves kicked in.

But he was friendly, chatty and seemed interested in what I was doing there! The interview lasted about 15-20 mins and it was all a blur because of the adrenaline! Good fun though.

Overall I had a brilliant time, made a few friends/valuable contacts and helped produce my favourite mag!

Leave a Reply

