Sports Journalism student on way to BBC’s Newsround

Sal Saba is preparing to start a two month contract with the BBC’s flagship children’s news programme based at Media City in Salford. 

He was offered the work after completing a placement at Newsround.  He is currently studying on the MA Sports Journalism course.

Sal said:  “It feels good to say that I work for the BBC.  I guess I impressed them during my two week work experience.  For me it was about making sure I didn’t let that door close now that I’d got my foot in.”

He also thanked staff at Sheffield Hallam University for their support, as well as Hannah Sanders who is about to graduate from the BA Journalism course.  Hannah successfully completed a work placement at the BBC and gave Sal valuable advice about his placement interview.

Sal has also been on work experience at Chesterfield FC and his video about an academy footballer was selected to appear on Sheffield Wednesday’s Youtube channel.

 

Leave a Reply

