Hallam graduate steps into her ideal job as a SciFi writer

Poppysfn_77-cover

A Sheffield Hallam journalism graduate has landed her dream job just weeks after leaving university.

Poppy-Jay Palmer has become a staff writer with Imagine Publishing and will be working on their SciFiNow magazine.

Her brief is to produce reviews, news stories, interviews and features for the magazine. The job will also involve attending press screenings and occasionally travelling abroad for TV and film set visits.

She has already reported from a Comic-Con event in Iceland and her next job is interviewing cast members from The Hobbit series including Ian McKellen, Richard Armitage, Luke Evans, Orlando Bloom and, Poppy-Jay’s particular favourite, Martin Freeman.

Poppy-Jay said: “Science fiction and fantasy, and just films and TV in general, have been things I’ve had a lot of interest in and enjoyed for years so I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to write about them as my job.

“I made a film magazine for my final year magazine, and I think that definitely helped me to get the job as well as give me experience with different types of feature writing.”

Poppy-Jay’s new job has meant a move to Bournemouth where the magazine is based but she’s quickly getting used to her new lifestyle.

“It’s so exciting,” she said. “I get to write about superheroes and Dr Who for a living – and I’m working just five minutes from the beach!”

One of her supervisors, joint course leader Clare Jenkins, added: “Poppy-Jay deserves every success. I learnt much from her. Thanks to her reviews of The Walking Dead in her final year TV and film blog, I now know everything I need to know about how to survive a zombie apocalypse. Seriously, she was a joy to work with, as all her tutors would agree, and we wish her all the very best in this new phase of her life.”

Leave a Reply

